Catholic Social Services Victoria has a Council, which is made up of representatives from across its 45 member organisations and the Dioceses of Victoria – Melbourne, Sandhurst, Sale and Ballarat. The Council provides expertise, knowledge and practical assistance in the governance of CSSV and administration of social services across the state. The Council sets the Strategic Plan for CSSV and is governed by a Code of Conduct.

Drawing from members of this group there are Council Standing Committees, which include Governance and Finance, Catholic Ethos and Identity, Policy and Advocacy, and Network Development and Support.

There are also a number of Working Groups that guide CSSV’s policy and advocacy work. These include Domestic Violence Working Group, Parish Liaison Working Group, Research Steering Group, Asylum Seekers Steering Committee and Emerging Leaders Network Organising Committee.

Current Council Members

Portrait of Bernie Cronin by Fiona Basile
Bernie Cronin
Catholic Social Services Victoria
Portrait of Jenny Glare
Jenny Glare
CSSV Council Deputy Chair
General Manager, Heritage & Information Service, MacKillop Family Services
Sonya Smart portrait
Sonya Smart
CSSV Council Treasurer
Chief Executive Officer,
Villa Maria Catholic Homes
Portrait of Joe Caddy by Fiona Basile
Fr Joe Caddy AM
Episcopal Vicar for Social Services
Catholic Archdiocese of Melbourne
Anne Astin by Fiona Basile
Anne Astin AM
Board Chair,
Good Shepherd Australia New Zealand
Sherry Balcombe by Fiona Basile
Sherry Balcombe
Aboriginal Catholic Ministry Victoria
Sr Nicole Rotaru RMS
Catholic Religious Australia Nominee
Cath Garner portrait
Cath Garner
CSSV Associate Member
Alfred Innovation and Education Hub
John Murphy
Board Director, CatholicCare Victoria, Bishop’s Nominee, Diocese of Sandhurst
Deacon Mark Kelly
Deacon Mark Kelly
Bishop’s Nominee, Diocese of Sale
Felicity Rorke portrait
Felicity Rorke,
Executive Director
Good Samaritan Inn
Ross Wheatland
Ross Wheatland, Executive Director CatholicCare Victoria, Bishop’s Nominee, Diocese of Ballarat


Agnes Sheehan
CatholicCare Victoria, Episcopal Vicar of Social Services Nominee

True justice comes about in people’s lives when they themselves are just in their decisions.

Pope Francis, Evangelii Gaudium [79]

Join our mailing list

Keep up to date with latest news, information and upcoming events.

We respect your privacy, as outlined in our privacy policy.